All CS2 ranks and Premier mode explained in 2024 (2024)

The competition no longer ends at ranked mode.

Counter-Strike 2 is more cut-throat than ever, but understanding CS2 ranks and how Premier works can help make the climb smoother.

For over a decade, players have been meeting Counter-Strike’s competitive and vague ranking system head-on by indulging in mindless grind. CS2 changes that.

The latest installment in Valve’s flagship series overhauls the ranking ladder by introducing a transparent system that allows players to climb the ladder calculatedly. However, the new system may be complicated for green players.

How to show FPS in CS2 — check out your frames with these methods
Is Counter-Strike 2 free to play?

What are all the CS2 ranks?

All CS2 ranks and Premier mode explained in 2024 (1)

CS2 retains all 18 ranks but with a twist. Pulling players out of the Mirage slump, Valve has introduced map-specific CS2 ranks. This means that in order to be truly Global Elite, players must grind and achieve the highest rank on each map.

Instead of counting progress across all maps, the system will now take into account your performance on each map and assign you a rank for that particular map.

How to unlock competitive in Counter-Strike 2 — get into the action quick

For example, if you keep spamming Inferno and avoid Vertigo, your progress won’t reflect on the latter. This means you could be an SMFC in Inferno and a Gold Nova in Vertigo.

Unlike CSGO, where the competitive rank is displayed for all, your Wingman rank and CS rating will appear on your main CS2 profile to your friends.

Here are all the CS2 ranks in 2024:

All CS2 ranks and Premier mode explained in 2024 (2)
  • Silver I
  • Silver II
  • Silver III
  • Silver IV
  • Silver Elite
  • Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Nova I
  • Gold Nova II
  • Gold Nova III
  • Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian I
  • Master Guardian II
  • Master Guardian Elite
  • Distinguished Master Guardian
  • Legendary Eagle
  • Legendary Eagle Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • Global Elite

For CS2 ranked mode, Valve has kept the progress system under wraps. Similar to CSGO, there’s no way to tell when the next rank-up will be. But, typically, winning 7-8 maps in a row with a decent individual standing should help climb CS2 ranks.

CS2 Premier mode explained

In CS2, ranked isn’t the most competitive mode. The real competition begins at Premier, where you can earn a single rating representing your skill set.

Premier mode is locked behind a paywall and is available for CS2 Prime owners. Prime is $14.99, a one-time payment for full access to all Premier features. Once you’ve purchased it, a new bar in the sub-menu will appear called “Premier.”

FaZe Clan’s latest match made Counter-Strike history at IEM Sydney

To start playing Premier, new players must complete 10 placement matches to earn an initial rating. After a player earns a rating, they gain entry into Premier mode. In Premier mode, players can progress by winning games and earning more ratings.

This is different from ranked mode, where progress is reflected in CS2 ranks after playing multiple games. Premier mode rewards players immediately for their wins, making it a more competitive experience.

What is CS2 rank rating?

All CS2 ranks and Premier mode explained in 2024 (3)

Instead of CS2 ranks, progress in Premier mode is measured by a rating system that ranges from 4,999 to over 30,000+. This rating is used to match you up with opponents of a similar skill level.

Each game grants a set level of rating that’s loosely based on your hidden Matchmaking Rating (MMR). If you notice that you’re earning more rating when you win and losing less when you lose, it’s a sign that your MMR is lower than it should be based on your skill level.

The system is trying to help you climb to a higher rank by adjusting your rating gains and losses accordingly.

CS2 crosshair settings guide: How to change your crosshair

The good news is you can check how much rating you’ll gain or lose before each match starts.

You no longer need to worry about your individual performance affecting the rating you gain. The predetermined rating system shifts the focus towards teamwork and the final outcome rather than encouraging players to grind for the top position on the scoreboard.

Players can earn a position in the top 10 leaderboard by viewing the in-game list and striving to achieve a higher rating than the current top 10 players.

The leaderboard includes all info on top players, including wins and win rates.

The rating of top players depends on the competition and isn’t relevant to the seven different levels in the Premier ladder. This means that even a player under a 30000 rating can also be the best player within their own region if that’s the max threshold.

All CS2 ranks and Premier mode explained in 2024 (4)

The seven levels in the Premier ladder are as follows:

  • Grey: 0 – 4999
  • Light Blue: 5000 – 9999
  • Blue: 10000 – 14999
  • Purple: 15000 – 19999
  • Pink: 20000 – 24999
  • Red: 25000 – 29999
  • Yellow: 30000+

30K is the highest CS2 rating, but it doesn’t stop there. Players can continue to compete and accumulate more ratings to secure the top spot on the leaderboard.

Players highly appreciate the Premier feature of the map pick-and-ban system, which lets them eliminate overly played locations.

During the voting screen, players can make their decisions based on the available chart, which includes information about both teams’ favorite and most played maps.

CS2 Premier rating to CSGO ranks

All CS2 ranks and Premier mode explained in 2024 (5)

If you have received an initial rating and are curious about what it means, comparing it to CSGO ranks can help you understand how you stack up.

  • 1,000 to 2,800 — Silver I
  • 2,800 to 3,800 — Silver II
  • 3,800 to 4,200 — Silver III
  • 4,200 to 4,700 — Silver IV
  • 4,700 to 4,999 — Silver Elite
  • 4,999 to 5,600 — Silver Elite Master
  • 5,600 to 6,500 — Gold Nova I
  • 6,500 to 7,400 — Gold Nova II
  • 7,400 to 8,400 — Gold Nova III
  • 8,400 to 9,400 — Gold Nova Master
  • 9,400 to 10,000 — Master Guardian I
  • 10,000 to 10,900 — Master Guardian II
  • 10,900 to 12,000 — Master Guardian Elite
  • 12,000 to 13,100 — Distinguished Master Guardian
  • 13,100 to 14,200 — Legendary Eagle
  • 14,200 to 15,500 — Legendary Eagle Master
  • 15,500 to 18,000 — Supreme Master First Class
  • 18,000 to 30,000+ — Global Elite

This is all you need to know about CS2 ranks to begin your grind and get your name up on the leaderboard.

READ MORE: What are Counter-Strike 2’s system requirements: Windows, SteamOS, and Linux

All CS2 ranks and Premier mode explained in 2024 (2024)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Duncan Muller

Last Updated:

Views: 5576

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (79 voted)

Reviews: 86% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Duncan Muller

Birthday: 1997-01-13

Address: Apt. 505 914 Phillip Crossroad, O'Konborough, NV 62411

Phone: +8555305800947

Job: Construction Agent

Hobby: Shopping, Table tennis, Snowboarding, Rafting, Motor sports, Homebrewing, Taxidermy

Introduction: My name is Duncan Muller, I am a enchanting, good, gentle, modern, tasty, nice, elegant person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.